Author Topic: Morphy Richard not starting up  (Read 12384 times)

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Morphy Richard not starting up
« on: 14:04:33 | 10 February, 2014 »
Hi,

My Morphy Richards was working fine when put away - about 18 months ago.
In the meantime I installed a different router - with a different KEY.

When I tried it today, it turns on and says 'initialising network', and then stops.
After about 30 seconds it restarts again and same thing - it loops in that state.

I've mislaid the instructions leaflet. Is there a reset function ?

I wonder can you say what might be the issue here ?

Thanks

Denis




DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #1 on: 14:58:23 | 10 February, 2014 »
Having read this thread:

http://forum.reciva.com/read.php?3,71357

I now think i have the problem with the standard dongle not working with 'n' protocol routers.

The replacement dongles seem to be 'end of life' at this point.

Any info on alternatives ?

Is there any way to adapt usb to LAN cable ?  (kinda defeats the flexibility of 'wireless'  :)

DenisM







zeewier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
  • Country: scotland
  • Thanked: 62 times
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #2 on: 03:48:48 | 11 February, 2014 »
There is a USB-LAN adapter that works for current Reciva radios like this one for example but if it will work with your Morphy Richards I don't know.

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 856
  • Thanked: 32 times
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #3 on: 06:19:23 | 11 February, 2014 »
If you haven't already done so, you ought to convince yourself that your radio is only suffering from the "n type Wi-Fi intolerance" problem.  You'll be totally pi**ed off if you do source a compatible dongle or LAN adapter and then find your radio still does not work because of some other problem!

Most routers can be set to 'b/g' or 'g' mode.  Apart from a temporary change to test the radio you might even find that the drop in speed of other devices is so small that you'll accept it permanently just to have your radio working.

However it is unlikely you can persuade neighbours to disable 'n' on their routers.  Whether that is critical depends entirely on their proximity to you.

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #4 on: 06:29:32 | 13 February, 2014 »
Thanks for that :)

My router (vodafone) is set to b/g/h and there is no way that I can find to alter it.

There are several WiFi points in my area that could potentially interfere....I could never get them all to change.

I've ordered a S/H dongle on ebay  - reasonable ( <  £5.00 ). 
I'll try that and hopefully it will come back to life.

If not - I think recycling bin is the option :(

DenisM









drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 856
  • Thanked: 32 times
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #5 on: 16:24:33 | 14 February, 2014 »
If you do decide to put it out of its misery via a recycling bin, I can offer a 'reward' if you choose mine.  :)

PM me if and when the time comes.

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #6 on: 09:22:04 | 20 February, 2014 »
Hi,

Dongle arrived. Tested on PC with XP - WiFi dongle works perfectlyon PC :)

I installed it in the Radio - by using a short USB extension lead - the dongle is outside the case now .

It would not connect to the network. It's security was WPA-psk.

I turned off all security and it works perfectly. No problem with radio reception :)

However I cannot let it as no security (OPEN).

I wonder if there is a firmware upgrade that might address that issue ?


By coincidence Vodafone installed a hispeed EFibre modem today.

Same situation with the new modem.   I had to set it as open to get it to work . :-\


I wonder if there is a firmware upgrade that might address that issue ?
And how do you upgrade firmware when not networked ?

I've lost the user manual too ..... Anybody have a link to it ?

DenisM










 












DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #7 on: 11:16:56 | 20 February, 2014 »
Rats !   

I've just noticed my TL-WN321G dongle is version 3.5 , having come across a reference to that dongle's needing to be ver. 3.6 if it's to work.

Is all lost at this point ?     :( :( :( :'(

DenisM

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #8 on: 11:44:37 | 20 February, 2014 »
I opened the dongle and it has it's RALINK  IC marked   RT2571WF   and  SU22440E0  and  0932PT.

Seems to be the right chip  :-\

On the inner case of the dongle is a paper label with ver 3.5 on it.
The 3.5 ref is also on the outer box label.

D.






 

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #9 on: 12:22:56 | 20 February, 2014 »
OK :)
Problem solved.

I altered the router to  b/g    as opposed to b/g/h .

The radio is now working with the TP-LINK WN321 ver 3.5.

(Thinks:   i wonder would it work now with my original dongle ?)

My previous modem did not have a feature to alter the b/g/h option (not that i could find).


Now to see if any wireless device objects ..............

DenisM




drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 856
  • Thanked: 32 times
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #10 on: 16:51:10 | 21 February, 2014 »
I don't know the history of the Morphy Richard official firmware versions but I do believe that early Reciva firmwares did not support WPA.  Now that you have the radio working again you can check via its Configuration menu if there is an official firmware later than the one in the radio.   If there is, I would let the radio install it.

The 'n intolerant' problem only applied to Wi-Fi dongles using the Zydas chip.  As far as I know, firmware upgrades alone never fixed that.  Firmwares not later than v257 included drivers for Zydas and RT2571 based dongles.

If the radio is working with the Ralink chip dongle, that dongle should also be capable of working with the router set to b/g/n.  But that might require a later firmware than currently in the radio.  You might also consider trying to get the v257-a-865-a-476 firmware on the radio.  Reciva now term that the "legacy enhanced firmware" rather than using the previous "beta firmware" title.

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #11 on: 03:41:02 | 23 February, 2014 »
Thanks for that :).

I tried upgrading the firmware by the panel keys and it says - 'no upgrade available'

I currently have V257-a-232, so it loks like there was an upgrade after that.

Is the upgrade firmware available on line ?
And how would I install it ?

I've browsed some of the Sharkfin project and it looks like it is possible to telnet to the radio and install firmware/software.
But it is a vast arena to come to grips with....

(I've lost the user manual for the radio. Is it available anywhere to download ?)

DenisM


drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 856
  • Thanked: 32 times
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #12 on: 05:33:10 | 23 February, 2014 »
If the  radio is saying "no upgrade available" that means the one it has is the last one Ok'd by Morphy Richards.  Just because v257-a-232 seems 'old' compared to other numbers, that doesn't automatically signify that there was a later upgrade.

There are three ways to upgrade the firmware:

1.  Via the Config menu - but you are restricted to what the manufacturer and/or Reciva will let you have.

2.  Via Sharpfin - this lets you load almost any firmware version.

3.  Via  JTAG - this needs a dump of the wanted firmware version from another radio, requires purchase or construction of a JTAG interface, connection of the latter to the internals of the radio (there is no plug or socket waiting for it), lots of patience (it takes the best part of 24 hours to flash the firmware) and a bit of nerve.

The easiest  way to get the legacy enhance firmware is to ask Reciva to enable it for your radio (radios.reciva.com).  If they oblige, then it will become available via the Configuration menu.

Otherwise, time to get clued up on Sharpfin or accept the status quo.

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #13 on: 06:21:22 | 23 February, 2014 »
Thanks you .  You put it so clearly.

Very helpful.

Regards

DenisM

DenisM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Morphy Richard not starting up
« Reply #14 on: 11:08:50 | 24 February, 2014 »
I should check out  "legacy enhanced firmware"    from Reciva ? How ?

They don't seem to have an email ref on their pages.
Their address is shown .... Maybe snail mail ?


D.