Author Topic: I hate to say it, but ...  (Read 8048 times)

Alan E Hill

• Oh! That British Bloke ...
  • Administrator
  • That British Bloke ...
I hate to say it, but ...
« on: 05:51:34 | 20 March, 2015 »
There are certain aspects of modern life I don't like.

Okay. There's a lot.

However, one of the things I most regret is the facility to listen to music together.

Many years ago, my interest in hi fi was awakened. I don't necessarily mean listening to hyper-expensive, esoteric machines running on panda blood and ground unicorn horn, but competent equipment and components which reproduce music - and speech -  in a manner pleasing to the ear.

In the sixties I was a shipwright apprentice in a naval dockyard in the SW of England. However, Plymouth wasn't a backwater when it came to music, not that anyone significant on the Plymouth scene ever emerged, but it had an important concert scene, thanks mainly to the Van Dike Organisation and, world-class, Pete Russell's Hot Record Store, significant enough to be mentioned in Charlie Gillett's influential book, "The Sound of the City".

Tuesday was always a good day. It was traditionally the day new records were released. So most Tuesdays, when I wasn't at evening class, involved catching the number 7 bus homewards through the centre of the 'Muff, stopping off at Pete's, checking the new releases and heading off home on the number 5.

The ritual was then to get around a mate's place, put the Dansette on repeat and play our new records then discuss how great/bad it was.

One of my friends was a bit different. He had a Thoren's turntable, Sugden pre-amp/amp and speakers which he'd made himself, maybe based on BBC LS3/5s (that's when the Beeb was a truly important technical innovator) or something like that. Anyway it sounded incredible.

But the real point was, we sat around, listened to King Crimson, Chicken Shack, Muddy Waters even, then shared the experience, then went to the pub.