Author Topic: Frontier Silicon: major changes lead to limited usability of all FS radios  (Read 7241 times)

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
  • Thanked: 34 times
Smards, what brand and model of router do you have?  Might be able to help you through the process of changing your DNS settings if you tell us this.  Otherwise, have a look at the section headed Routers about 3/4 of the way down this page: https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.  (Note: changing your DNS server in Windows Settings won't help your radio.  You will have to do it in your router to get your radio to connect.)
Setting DNS in the router is NOT the only option.  FS firmware allows manual setting of network parameters.  See screenshot.

NickW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Wow, drgeoff, that's great!  I'm guessing that is a screen shot of a software interface to the radio's firmware (the FS firmware you refer to)?  How do I get to it?  Is there software I need to download so I can connect directly to the radio, or can I navigate to it (the radio) via my LAN and a browser?  How does it work?

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Country: de
  • Thanked: 70 times
Yoiu can get to the radio's service page simply by pointing your browser at the radio's IP address in your LAN. You can find that on the radio's menu under System Settings > Network > View settings. What you see on the service page depends on how old the radio's software is.
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2),  Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2010, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520, Sangean WFR-29C.
The following users thanked this post: NickW

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
  • Thanked: 34 times
On a computer on the same network as the radio point a browser at the IP address of the radio. If you don't know what the address is either look in the Undok or equivalent app or look in your router to see what address its DHCP server has allocated.
The following users thanked this post: NickW

NickW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
On a computer on the same network as the radio point a browser at the IP address of the radio. If you don't know what the address is either look in the Undok or equivalent app or look in your router to see what address its DHCP server has allocated.
Cool!  Ok, so I can see my radio's settings through my browser but I can't update them.  I only get a Status tab with everything listed. Your screenshot showed multiple tabs, one of which is Update. Different radio with a different setup?  Mine is a Sagean WFR-28C.

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Country: de
  • Thanked: 70 times
As I said, the Sangean WFR-28C and 29C have older software on board, and Sangean have shown no interest in updating it. Editing details on the radio's browser-accesible service page is a feature which was added later.

Another later feature not available on these models is saving internet radio presets using the UNDOK app. The plus-sign-in-a-circle symbol is present for DAB and FM, but not internet radio. Radios with more recent software do allow preset saving via UNDOK.

There is a Windows program ('app' in Newspeak) available through the Microsoft app store, called RadioRemote, which provides UNDOK-like facilities on a Windows 10 PC. Maybe that would help.
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2),  Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2010, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520, Sangean WFR-29C.

NickW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
There is a Windows program ('app' in Newspeak) available through the Microsoft app store, called RadioRemote, which provides UNDOK-like facilities on a Windows 10 PC. Maybe that would help.
Unfortunately it only allows you to change stations or the source, just like undok.  Never mind.  I am back on the air thanks to the DNS server change in my router so I am happy.   :)  Thanks again for your advice.

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Country: de
  • Thanked: 70 times
« Last Edit: 22:20:52 | 02 July, 2019 by Dogmatix »
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2),  Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2010, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520, Sangean WFR-29C.

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Country: de
  • Thanked: 70 times
Peter Johnson, the CEO of vTuner, has been posting comments that appear to be rather anti-Frontier and anti-Airable. He says that Frontier are in deep financial straits, and Airable's quality is "bad". See his comments at the bottom of this article:

https://www.alpha-audio.nl/2019/06/het-gevaar-van-de-aggregatoren-dag-radio/

He is clearly still royally pissed off that Frontier, instead of accepting his fees hike, dumped him and switched to Airable after he cut off all Frontier radios for a dew hours. So now he is bad-mouthing Frontier and Airable. What he is writing about them verges on defamation.

In the meantime, a bit more on the Frontier frontier:

https://www.proactiveinvestors.co.uk/companies/news/223409/frontier-smart-hopes-to-convince-science-group-of-the-merits-of-alternative-to-a-takeover-223409.html

I'm starting to wonder who Frontier's "credible industry player" is.... maybe Grace? or Roberts?
« Last Edit: 12:46:02 | 05 July, 2019 by Dogmatix »
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2),  Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2010, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520, Sangean WFR-29C.

Solo2

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2414
  • Country: us
  • Thanked: 92 times
  • On the internet, no one knows whose dog you are.
I'm starting to wonder who Frontier's "credible industry player" is.... maybe Grace? or Roberts?

I can't see how it would be Grace.  They don't appear to have any strategic reason to get involved and even less cash.  According to Frontier Silicon's July 5 statement, the "credible player" is not really a white knight but some entity that is proposing some sort of a vague commercial joint venture utilizing some of Frontier Silicon's technology.
Radios:   Grace GDI-IRA500, 2 GDI-IRDT200s, GDI-IRMS300, Grace IRC6000W, Grace GDI-WHA6001, Grace and Reciva iradio apps

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Country: de
  • Thanked: 70 times
Interesting Things appear to be happening. See Digital Spy: https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/94200990#Comment_94200990, post 447 onwards. See also instructions at https://support.wifiradiofrontier.com/portal/kb/articles/favourites.

Can't test any of this myself at the moment; I'm on holiday in Brexitannia without an internet radio....
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2),  Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2010, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520, Sangean WFR-29C.
The following users thanked this post: chairspud

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
  • Thanked: 34 times
Interesting Things appear to be happening. See Digital Spy: https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/94200990#Comment_94200990, post 447 onwards. See also instructions at https://support.wifiradiofrontier.com/portal/kb/articles/favourites.

Can't test any of this myself at the moment; I'm on holiday in Brexitannia without an internet radio....
Indeed.  Have just added a Roberts S1 to the Nuvola portal, added some favourites on the portal and added presets in the Undok app.

chairspud

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Interesting Things appear to be happening. See Digital Spy: https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/94200990#Comment_94200990, post 447 onwards. See also instructions at https://support.wifiradiofrontier.com/portal/kb/articles/favourites.

Can't test any of this myself at the moment; I'm on holiday in Brexitannia without an internet radio....

Thanks a bunch! Just tried this and it works great, my wfr-28 is back in business and the new portal/ favorites iis even better than the old Frontier system.

oldeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Thanks, I could connect my two devices again to a favourites list. The only issue is: The order in which I introduced the stations is not the order in the favourites list on the Web page. And the stations order in the Web page is not the order in which my favourites appear on the device. So the order in which the stations appear on my devices seems rather random. Therefore the (custom) sorting order option should be improved.

oldeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
 The order in which I introduced the stations is not the order in the favourites list on the Web page. And the stations order in the Web page is not the order in which my favourites appear on the device.

After submitting a ticket to support, they modified things and the issue is solved. Chapeau!
Both tuners work now as they did in the past.