login

Author Topic: v257-a-865  (Read 243 times)

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
v257-a-865
« on: 07:18:17 | 28 December, 2020 »
I have some CC Wifi Reciva-based radios with versions v257-a-865-a-407 amd v257-a-865-a-414-a-015.  There are notes I found on the forum indicating that v257-a-865 cannot be sharpfin'd but I tried it anyways and was unsuccessful as expected. 

I wonder if there are any workarounds?  It would be nice to be able to do this before Reciva shuts down.

(I used the instructions and programs in http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/Patchserver_0.7rc3.zip and
http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/sharpfin-base_0.3.zip and the videos listed on the page https://www.sharpfin.org/index.php/Enabling_Login except I used patchserver_commandline.exe in place of patchserver_launcher.exe since the launcher uses a web site that no longer exists.  It does say you can do this.)


drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #1 on: 07:34:47 | 28 December, 2020 »
I have some CC Wifi Reciva-based radios with versions v257-a-865-a-407 amd v257-a-865-a-414-a-015.  There are notes I found on the forum indicating that v257-a-865 cannot be sharpfin'd but I tried it anyways and was unsuccessful as expected.
I beg to differ.  See screenshot.

I've always used Linux when patching so cannot comment on why the Windows method has not worked for you.
« Last Edit: 07:38:26 | 28 December, 2020 by drgeoff »

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #2 on: 16:33:17 | 02 January, 2021 »
I have some CC Wifi Reciva-based radios with versions v257-a-865-a-407 amd v257-a-865-a-414-a-015.  There are notes I found on the forum indicating that v257-a-865 cannot be sharpfin'd but I tried it anyways and was unsuccessful as expected.
I beg to differ.  See screenshot.

I've always used Linux when patching so cannot comment on why the Windows method has not worked for you.

I tried again and got further. On the Windows side I got a message from patchserver-commandline.exe that it was transferring the base patch and then the radio rebooted but after that I am not able to connect to the radio via my browser or telnet.

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #3 on: 03:01:52 | 03 January, 2021 »
I have some CC Wifi Reciva-based radios with versions v257-a-865-a-407 amd v257-a-865-a-414-a-015.  There are notes I found on the forum indicating that v257-a-865 cannot be sharpfin'd but I tried it anyways and was unsuccessful as expected.
I beg to differ.  See screenshot.

I've always used Linux when patching so cannot comment on why the Windows method has not worked for you.

I tried again and got further. On the Windows side I got a message from patchserver-commandline.exe that it was transferring the base patch and then the radio rebooted but after that I am not able to connect to the radio via my browser or telnet.
After it rebooted did you reset its network configuration?

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #4 on: 04:23:27 | 03 January, 2021 »
I have some CC Wifi Reciva-based radios with versions v257-a-865-a-407 amd v257-a-865-a-414-a-015.  There are notes I found on the forum indicating that v257-a-865 cannot be sharpfin'd but I tried it anyways and was unsuccessful as expected.
I beg to differ.  See screenshot.

I've always used Linux when patching so cannot comment on why the Windows method has not worked for you.

I tried again and got further. On the Windows side I got a message from patchserver-commandline.exe that it was transferring the base patch and then the radio rebooted but after that I am not able to connect to the radio via my browser or telnet.
After it rebooted did you reset its network configuration?

Thanks. I did re-enable DHCP in Configure / Network Config / Edit Network .

I noticed that ping works but I still can't connect.

Code: [Select]
>ping 10.90.1.83

Pinging 10.90.1.83 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.90.1.83: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.90.1.83: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.90.1.83: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.90.1.83: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.90.1.83:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

>ssh user@10.90.1.83
ssh: connect to host 10.90.1.83 port 22: Connection refused

EastEriq

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #5 on: 04:38:18 | 03 January, 2021 »
It's telnet/ftp only, not ssh.

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #6 on: 13:50:54 | 03 January, 2021 »
It's telnet/ftp only, not ssh.

Thanks. I had also tried telnet and http and have now tried ftp too but unfortunately only ping works for me. 

EastEriq

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #7 on: 00:08:58 | 04 January, 2021 »
Spitballing, of course, but it actually happened to me: are you sure you're pinging the radio and not another device on your local network? Do you see open ports with nmap?
Code: [Select]
$ nmap -p1-65535 --open 10.0.0.149

Starting Nmap 7.60 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2021-01-04 09:56 IST
Nmap scan report for 10.0.0.149
Host is up (0.032s latency).
Not shown: 63557 closed ports, 1974 filtered ports
Some closed ports may be reported as filtered due to --defeat-rst-ratelimit
PORT     STATE SERVICE
21/tcp   open  ftp
23/tcp   open  telnet
80/tcp   open  http
8050/tcp open  unknown

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 89.06 seconds

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #8 on: 07:29:49 | 04 January, 2021 »
Spitballing, of course, but it actually happened to me: are you sure you're pinging the radio and not another device on your local network? Do you see open ports with nmap?
Code: [Select]
$ nmap -p1-65535 --open 10.0.0.149

Starting Nmap 7.60 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2021-01-04 09:56 IST
Nmap scan report for 10.0.0.149
Host is up (0.032s latency).
Not shown: 63557 closed ports, 1974 filtered ports
Some closed ports may be reported as filtered due to --defeat-rst-ratelimit
PORT     STATE SERVICE
21/tcp   open  ftp
23/tcp   open  telnet
80/tcp   open  http
8050/tcp open  unknown

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 89.06 seconds

nmap gives the following output.  I assume that the King Champion in the response means that I did get the address correct.

Code: [Select]
>nmap -p1-65535 --open 10.90.1.83
Starting Nmap 7.91 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2021-01-04 10:25 Eastern Standard Time
Nmap scan report for 10.90.1.83
Host is up (0.024s latency).
Not shown: 65534 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE
8050/tcp open  unknown
MAC Address: 00:1C:D2:F0:A0:70 (King Champion (Hong Kong) Limited)

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 82.03 seconds

EastEriq

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #9 on: 08:02:05 | 04 January, 2021 »
  ??? I have done the patching only once, years ago, and I don't remember the specifics, sorry. When you applied the patch, did you see on the radio display all the messages mentioned at page 6 of the pdf?

A tip if you weren't aware: many of the missing files linked on https://www.sharpfin.org/index.php/Releases are still accessible if you replace "www.sharpfin.org" with "pschmidt.it. E.g., https://pschmidt.it/sharpfin/images/2/25/Patchserver_0.7rc3.zip . Most of them have also been copied by Alan to http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/ though.

A. Black

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #10 on: 08:28:32 | 04 January, 2021 »
  ??? I have done the patching only once, years ago, and I don't remember the specifics, sorry. When you applied the patch, did you see on the radio display all the messages mentioned at page 6 of the pdf?

A tip if you weren't aware: many of the missing files linked on https://www.sharpfin.org/index.php/Releases are still accessible if you replace "www.sharpfin.org" with "pschmidt.it. E.g., https://pschmidt.it/sharpfin/images/2/25/Patchserver_0.7rc3.zip . Most of them have also been copied by Alan to http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/ though.

I used
http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/Patchserver_0.7rc3.zip and
http://iradioforum.net/sharpfin/sharpfin-base_0.3.zip .
I didn't know about pschmid.it but I think that only affects the launcher which in turn spawns the command line program which I ran directly. The first line in the code below outputs the IP address of the nameserver which I used as the IP argument in the second line.
Code: [Select]
nslookup .
patchserver-commandline.exe -accept 10.90.1.1 %cd%\sharpfin-test.patch
It issued tons of messages including a message that indicated that it was transferring the patch so at the time I ran it it seemed to be working.

Just in case I will try the launcher with pschmidt.it as well.

Thanks for the information.

« Last Edit: 09:49:48 | 04 January, 2021 by A. Black »

drgeoff

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #11 on: 09:48:49 | 04 January, 2021 »
Or go straight to Sharpfin Reloaded by loading the Enhance Pack instead of the base patch.  https://www.sharpfin.org/index.php/Sharpfin_Enhance_Pack. 6th and 7th bullet points.

dif

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: gb
Re: v257-a-865
« Reply #12 on: 14:47:04 | 13 January, 2021 »
I can confirm that 257-a-865-a-476 can be Sharpfinned on the Acoustic Energy AE17 radio, and 257-a-615-a-087 on the Logik IR100 radio.

After doing this I tried out some config file modifications. Adding 40 stations worth of history worked on both radios (stations-history and history-size options). Adding bookmarks (bookmarks and bookmark-on-long-select options) worked on the Logik radio, but did nothing on the AE radio. The option presets-as-menu-items worked on both radios.

A long history list and ability to store bookmarked stations should be a big help when Reciva has gone, assuming the radios are still able to start up at all. Being able to see more presets than there are buttons on the radio is also very useful.
Radios: Acoustic Energy AE17 & Logik IR100

 

anything