login

Author Topic: Any workarounds for Reciva database?  (Read 990 times)

Spilot113

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« on: 08:01:48 | 19 January, 2021 »
I have a Sangean WFR Internet radio that uses Reciva which is showing down.

I thought someone had posted a workaround, where you would load a URL under the "my links" setting that would point to a file on your computer or a server that you control, that would forward it to any playlist/streaming URL that you choose.

If the forwarding file was on a computer you controlled, you could always change the destination that it forwarded to. 

Even if Reciva went offline, the 'links' would be on the radio that would point to wherever you choose.

Am I making sense?  Anyone see this workaround posted anywhere?

BobShanghai

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #1 on: 08:57:48 | 19 January, 2021 »
Did this about a month ago on my reciva box, it is working fine.
But I did it by setting each preset to point to a windows webserver that I control. This was suggested by others and is a good solution, except must never force a full reset of the box.

Spilot113

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #2 on: 09:44:53 | 19 January, 2021 »
Are the instructions online anywhere?

vinnielo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • RadioFeeds for Reciva
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #3 on: 08:49:56 | 22 January, 2021 »
I've created a set of pls files and hosted them online.
I've noticed that you can only set the name in the Reciva Portal and not in the playlist file.
I guess you could use sharpfin to change it.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/reciva/ - a clean and tidy UK & Ireland radio directory for your Reciva Radio. With over 800 Reciva radio owners now signed up.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/fs/ - an easy-to-use tool to add a radio station in the UK and Ireland to your Frontier Silicon wi-fi radio.

chafporte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #4 on: 17:58:07 | 13 February, 2021 »
I've explained the workaround there:
http://iradioforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=2942.0

vinnielo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • RadioFeeds for Reciva
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #5 on: 09:44:56 | 15 February, 2021 »
You could install Logitech Media Server somewhere - a desktop PC, NAS or Raspberry Pi.. and then get the ability to change channels on your radio from a smartphone app.

Another advantage to using LMS is you can import/export your list of favourite stations so you'll never have to recreate them because of circumstances outside of your control.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/reciva/ - a clean and tidy UK & Ireland radio directory for your Reciva Radio. With over 800 Reciva radio owners now signed up.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/fs/ - an easy-to-use tool to add a radio station in the UK and Ireland to your Frontier Silicon wi-fi radio.

vinnielo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • RadioFeeds for Reciva
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #6 on: 16:03:37 | 18 March, 2021 »
Here's a video I made to show smartphone control.
Ignore the first part of the video. I was just demonstrating how Virgin Radio Groove (as well as other Wireless Group stations) glitch on the IR100. Also ignore the silence after I selected VRG. This doesn't happen with other stations as you can see further along.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RGVKNYn3dM" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RGVKNYn3dM</a>


http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/reciva/ - a clean and tidy UK & Ireland radio directory for your Reciva Radio. With over 800 Reciva radio owners now signed up.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/fs/ - an easy-to-use tool to add a radio station in the UK and Ireland to your Frontier Silicon wi-fi radio.

vinnielo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • RadioFeeds for Reciva
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #7 on: 16:22:46 | 18 March, 2021 »
OK, I think I've found the reason for the delay, for any who are interested.
BBC Essex has a sample rate of 48kHz. Virgin Radio Groove has 44.1kHz.
This change in sample rate causes the radio to reload and resync so as not to sound chipmunky.
As you can see, there is no moment of pause when I switch to the other stations which are also at 44.1kHz.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/reciva/ - a clean and tidy UK & Ireland radio directory for your Reciva Radio. With over 800 Reciva radio owners now signed up.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/fs/ - an easy-to-use tool to add a radio station in the UK and Ireland to your Frontier Silicon wi-fi radio.

vinnielo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • RadioFeeds for Reciva
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #8 on: 03:54:22 | 09 April, 2021 »
A bit of positive feedback from a Reciva user (but not member of this forum) who saw this post.
Reposted with permission:

"Just a quick note of thanks for your video and for inspiring me to create a media server.  I have also added RadioFeeds to the LMS and it works a charm!  Just for the record, I'm using a Pi2 using the latest build of piCore. It worked out of the box. Post boot, once you can identify the IP assigned to the Pi, it's a matter of logging in using a web browser to make any changes via the web GUI and to activate RadioFeeds.  (to listen to the stream add port 9000/stream to the IP).  As a controller, I'm using the Squeezer app (Google Play / F-Droid).  I had never seen a LMS before (late to the party and clueless, huh?). By default, you get a TuneIn directory (now pretty hopeless). Adding the RadioFeeds 'app' added a new 'RadioFeeds UK & Ireland' entry in the Squeezer client (radio menu) adding hundreds of stations in a heartbeat.  As an extra step, I've added a URL at the Reciva portal, pointing to my LMS URL (in a pls file) on PCloud, and saved this to preset 1 on my radio.  Hopefully, when Reciva goes dark, I'll be able to continue to access my presets, my LMS and hundreds of stations, rather than be limited to the few hardware presets on the radio.  Thanks for your great work and access to your database Vinnie!!  Also, thanks to chafporte for the pls file on a cloud idea.  This works perfectly for me."
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/reciva/ - a clean and tidy UK & Ireland radio directory for your Reciva Radio. With over 800 Reciva radio owners now signed up.
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/fs/ - an easy-to-use tool to add a radio station in the UK and Ireland to your Frontier Silicon wi-fi radio.

Dogmatix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Country: 00
  • Thanked: 98 times
  • Origin England; resident in Germany.
Re: Any workarounds for Reciva database?
« Reply #9 on: 06:53:04 | 09 April, 2021 »
Looks like you have a satisfied "customer" there, Vinnielo.

However, all that would be too much mucking about for me. Much easier just to get a new internet radio, methinks.
Radios in use: Roberts Stream 93i & SB1 (×2), Revo Pixis RX, Hama DIT2100, IR110 & DIR3500, Technisat 520. No smart speakers, no voice-control gadgets.

 

anything